Right time for a stupid seo spammer outing.
It’s a good one this, and could turn out to be more than just a not-too-bright spamming SEO company captured, or could be just that.
We had a dubious looking comment dropped a day or two ago and a quick glance at the awesome Woopra confirmed the true nature of the thing.

It wasn’t just the very spammy looking (broken, by the way) deep link URL (to one of a lot of landing pages) that they wanted to link to, nor their anchor text, we’d have been OK with that if they’d added anything of value.
<<– what was wrong with this one was the unmistakable ring of the outsourced link-builders who don’t really understand the language (and a little tip here, if you’re dropping debatable links, curt little one liners don’t help your cause…
) As you can see in the screenshot Woopra busted them fairly big time.
We would normally have just deleted this, however on finding these on SEOMoz tonight, the home of the SEO Police themselves…
(click this image to visit the scene of the latest crimes)

And with the second of the two attempts sounding suspiciously like our “nugget” from him, we decided it might be a laugh to point this out.
So have www.searchengineoptimisationworks.com.au completely lost the plot, or is it a smear campaign by a competitor? Have they gone and hired some gung-ho outsourced oriental link muscle who’ve gone a bit mad on their behalf?
..Or is SEO Works not under Australian “ownership” at all?
An hour and a half after the first visit Woopra showed another single hit from the same IP region, to the same page, from following an email link, which we would likely assume was link-builder junior reporting in to link-builder senior where he had been dumping that day.
It doesn’t really make sense that this company would do this themselves as their site looks fairly impressive, in both client base and content, and already ranks #2 for SEO Sydney as shown below, (well we’ve gone and linked to the already #1 one site here, as a lesson for the cheek
)

One dodgy comment on a (our) dofollow blog is one thing, but double dropping broken (and nofollowed anyway) links on SEOMoz is fairly overground now, so maybe its just publicity they want & we’ll try to help
If anybody from there is seeing this we would suggest that you’re going to need some reputation management yourselves soon if you don’t call them off..
It should also be noted we didn’t do a Hobo and go after their name nor main terms to really embarrass in Google, but expect they’ll be featuring quite well for “Spam down under” before too long, …sort it out.
edit. haha whoops, we’re just too strong




{ 1 trackback }
{ 0 comments… add one now }